2022 MLB Preview

by admin

After a brief player lockout and delay, the 2022 MLB 162-game season is set to get underway on April 7 th and run until October 5 th with the playoffs and Fall Classic (World Series) to follow. The league and players recently agreed on a new five-year collective bargaining agreement (CBA), which will see MLB use a universal designated hitter from now on as well as expand the postseason to 12 teams. In addition, the Cleveland Indians have been renamed the Cleveland Guardians and the 2022 All-Star Game will be held at Dodger Stadium in Los Angeles.
Several rule changes were also announced for 2022 with the following coming into effect:
1-Doubleheader games will revert back to full nine-inning affairs after being reduced to seven-inning games during 2020 and 2021.
2- The National League will join the American League in using a full-time designated hitter.
3-If two or more teams are tied in the standings at the end of the season for a playoff spot, the tie will be broken with statistics rather than playing a tie-breaking game.
4- A total of 12 teams will now make the playoffs. The division winners in each league will be seeded one to three and three wild card teams will be seeded four to six. The two top seeds in the American and National League will each be given a bye into their respective Division Series.
5- The lowest-seeded divisional winner and the three wild card clubs will each play a best two-out-of- three Wild Card playoff round with the highest-seeded team playing all three games at home. The third- seeded team will meet the sixth-seeded club while the fourth-seeded squad will play the fifth-seeded outfit. The top-seeded divisional winner will then enter the postseason in the divisional round by playing the winner of the fourth-vs fifth-seeded series and the second-seeded divisional winner will play the victor of the third vs sixth-seed series.
You can see more of this article in our Summer Issue of ModelsMania

Related Articles